Nevada drivers are required by law to carry liability insurance. But there are plenty of people who still drive uninsured, and even more misconceptions about just what liability insurance really does for you. Uninsured/underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage can cover some of the gaps. It is not automatically included in Nevada auto insurance policies. If you are unsure, you should check today to find out if you are covered. Here are a few reasons why.
Your Liability Insurance Does Not Pay for Your Injuries
Although you are required to carry auto insurance, it is not only for your protection. It is to protect other people in the event that you are at fault for an accident. Your liability insurance generally does not pay for your injuries, your passengers’ injuries, or the damage to your vehicle. For that, you’ll need to turn to the policy of the at-fault driver.
Insured Drivers are Typically Underinsured
Insurance is required, but the minimums required are very low. Definitely not enough to pay for serious injuries, even with Nevada’s recent increase in minimums. Since July 1, 2018, drivers are required to carry $25,000 in bodily injury per person and $50,000 in bodily injury per accident.
That means if two people are injured, they could receive $25,000 each for their injuries, but even if more than two people are injured, the total pay-out for all injuries will only be $50,000. Sadly, this is a drop in the bucket if injuries are severe.
Protection in Hit and Run Accidents
Besides covering you if you are injured by an uninsured or underinsured driver, UM/UIM will pay for your medical bills if you are injured in a hit and run. Yes, the police will try to find the driver and as your auto accident attorney we will try even harder, but the driver may not be identified or located.
To learn more about recovering compensation from your UM/UIM coverage, please call Adam Smith Law at 702-929-2289 or contact us online today and schedule your free consultation.